Downtown Bend: The Library Book Club

Friday, July 22, 2022
12:00 PM to 1:00 PM
Discuss The Writer's Library by Nancy Pearl and Jeff Schwager.

This is an in-person event. Wearing a face covering is recommended at all in-person, indoor events.

Before Jennifer Egan, Louise Erdrich, Luis Alberto Urrea, and Jonathan Lethem became revered authors, they were readers. In this ebullient book, America's favorite librarian Nancy Pearl and noted-playwright Jeff Schwager interview a diverse range of America's most notable and influential writers about the books that shaped them and inspired them to leave their own literary mark.

Illustrated with beautiful line drawings, The Writer's Library is a revelatory exploration of the studies, libraries, and bookstores of today's favorite authors—the creative artists whose imagination and sublime talent make America's literary scene the wonderful, dynamic world it is. A love letter to books and a celebration of wordsmiths, The Writer's Library is a treasure for anyone who has been moved by the written word.

The authors in The Writer's Library are:

Russell Banks
TC Boyle
Michael Chabon
Susan Choi
Jennifer Egan
Dave Eggers
Louise Erdrich
Richard Ford
Laurie Frankel
Andrew Sean Greer
Jane Hirshfield
Siri Hustvedt
Charles Johnson
Laila Lalami
Jonathan Lethem
Donna Tartt
Madeline Miller
Viet Thanh Nguyen
Luis Alberto Urrea
Vendela Vida
Ayelet Waldman
Maaza Mengiste
Amor Towles

-From the Publisher

Event Type
Adult Program
Age Group(s)
Community Librarian, Paige Bentley-Flannery | | 15416177078