Search
  Search
  Search
  Search

Free Computer Classes at the Library!


Posted By:  
Date Posted:  1/25/2003

The Deschutes Public Library offers classes at each library branch on the use of its electronic resources. Free hands-on classes are now being offered at the Bend, La Pine, Redmond, and Sunriver branches. Class size is limited to 10 at the Bend and Redmond branches and 5-8 in La Pine and Sunriver. Sign-up for classes at the Reference Desk of your local branch or call one of the following numbers:

Bend: 617-7080
La Pine: 536-0515
Redmond: 548-3141
Sunriver: 593-9285

Complete any of these series and receive a Certificate of Completion:


Track 1 – Getting Started on Computers and Software

Getting Started on the Computer
Choosing the Right Office Program
Editing a Report with Word
Creating a Party Invitation with Word
Creating a Budget Spreadsheet with Excel

Track 2 – Computer Access to the Library and Beyond

Getting Started on the Computer
Navigating the Web
Exploring the DPL Library Catalog
Choosing a Search Tool for the Internet
When the Web Won't Work: Using Electronic Databases
Advanced Topics in Internet Searching

Track 3 – Special Topics for the Advanced User

E-Mail -- Session 1
E-Mail -- Session 2
Job and Career Resources
Writing a Resume with Word
Medical Resources
Small Business Resources




Track 1 – Getting Started on Computers and Software

Course 1 – Getting Started on the Computer

This basic class is designed for those with very little or no computer experience. It covers parts of the PC, mouse skills, scrolling and other basic tasks within the Windows 2000 operating system.
Prerequisites: None

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 4 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend January 29 Wednesday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend February 18 Tuesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Bend March 12 Wednesday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.


Course 2 – Choosing the Right Office Program

This class introduces users to MS Office 2000 programs. Learn how to decide when to use each Office program.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system.

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 11 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend January 30 Thursday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend February 19 Wednesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Bend March 13 Thursday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.


Course 3 – Editing a Report with Word

This class introduces users to MS Word. Learn some of the basic functions of Word, plus edit and save a report.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Choosing the Right Office Program” or familiarity with the MS Office programs.

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 18 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend February 5 Wednesday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend February 25 Tuesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Bend March 19 Wednesday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.


Course 4 – Creating a Party Invitation with Word

Learn additional functions in MS Word. Create, edit, and save a party invitation!
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Choosing the Right Office Program” or familiarity with the MS Office programs.

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 25 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend February 6 Thursday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend February 26 Wednesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Bend March 20 Thursday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.




Course 5 – Creating a Budget Spreadsheet with Excel

This class is designed to introduce users to the MS Excel program. Learn how to create, edit, and save a budget spreadsheet.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Choosing the Right Office Program” or familiarity with the MS Office programs.

Branch Date Day Time
Bend February 1 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend February 12 Wednesday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend March 4 Tuesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Bend March 26 Thursday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.


Track 2 – Computer Access to the Library and Beyond

Course 1 – Getting Started on the Computer

This basic class is designed for those with very little or no computer experience. It covers parts of the PC, mouse skills, scrolling and other basic tasks within the Windows 2000 operating system.
Prerequisites: None

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 8 Wednesday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend February 8 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend February 19 Wednesday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
Bend March 11 Tuesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
La Pine January 11 Saturday 10:00 – 11:00 a.m.
La Pine February 8 Saturday 10:00 – 11:00 a.m.
La Pine March 8 Saturday 10:00 – 11:00 a.m.
Redmond January 24 Friday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Redmond February 21 Friday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Redmond March 21 Friday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Sunriver January 21 Tuesday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.
Sunriver January 25 Saturday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.


Course 2 – Navigating the Web

Designed to introduce users to Internet Explorer and the World Wide Web. Learn some Internet lingo and browse the library's Internet links.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system.

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 9 Thursday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend February 15 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend February 20 Thursday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
Bend March 12 Wednesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
La Pine January 17 Friday 10:00 – 11:00 a.m.
La Pine February 14 Friday 10:00 – 11:00 a.m.
La Pine March 14 Friday 10:00 – 11:00 a.m.
Redmond January 31 Friday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Redmond February 28 Friday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Redmond March 28 Friday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Sunriver February 4 Tuesday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.
Sunriver February 8 Saturday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.

Course 3 – Exploring the DPL Library Catalog

Learn all you need to know to successfully locate materials at the Deschutes Public Library. Place a hold and access your library account in this informative class.
Prerequisites: A library card, “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system, and “Navigating the Web” or familiarity with Internet Explorer (or other browser software).

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 15 Wednesday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend February 22 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend February 26 Wednesday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
Bend March 18 Tuesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Sunriver February 18 Tuesday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.
Sunriver February 22 Saturday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.
Sunriver March 18 Tuesday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.
Sunriver March 22 Satruday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.


Course 4 – Choosing a Search Tool for the Internet

Find out how to select the appropriate search tool and perform searches on the Internet.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Navigating the Web” or familiarity with Internet Explorer (or other browser software).

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 16 Thursday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend February 27 Thursday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
Bend March 1 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend March 19 Wednesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Redmond January 23 Thursday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Redmond February 20 Thursday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Redmond March 27 Thursday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.


Course 5 – When the Web Won't Work: Using Electronic Databases

Find out about electronic databases - what they are and what is available to you. Learn how to search Magazines Online, our full-text magazine database.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Navigating the Web” or familiarity with Internet Explorer (or other browser software).

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 22 Wednesday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend March 5 Wednesday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
Bend March 8 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend March 25 Tuesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.






Course 6 – Advanced Topics in Internet Searching

Learn how to focus your searching and improve the results of your Internet searches.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system, “Navigating the Web” or familiarity with Internet Explorer (or other browser software), and "Choosing a Search Tool for the Internet" or familiarity with the Internet and navigating the Web using a Web browser.

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 23 Thursday 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 Noon
Bend March 6 Thursday 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.
Bend March 15 Saturday 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Bend March 26 Wednesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.


Track 3 – Special Topics for the Advanced User

E-Mail – Session 1

Learn how to sign up for and use e-mail on the World Wide Web.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Navigating the Web” or familiarity with Internet Explorer (or other browser software).

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 14 Tuesday 11:00 a.m. 12:00 Noon
Bend February 12 Wednesday 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Bend March 5 Wednesday 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.
La Pine January 30 Thursday 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.
La Pine February 27 Thursday 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.
La Pine March 27 Thursday 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.
Redmond January 28 Tuesday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Redmond February 25 Tuesday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Redmond March 25 Tuesday 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Sunriver March 4 Tuesday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.
Sunriver March 8 Saturday 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.


E-Mail – Session 2

Advanced techniques using your e-mail account. Learn how to create group mailing lists, manage your folders, and attach files.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system, “Navigating the Web” or familiarity with Internet Explorer (or other browser software), and “E-mail – Session 1” or familiarity with free e-mail services.

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 21 Tuesday 11:00 a.m. 12:00 Noon
Bend February 13 Thursday 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Bend March 6 Thursday 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.






Job and Career Resources

An overview of the library’s print and electronic job and career resources will get you on the road to a new career.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Navigating the Web” or familiarity with Internet Explorer (or other browser software).

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 22 Wednesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.


Writing a Resume with Word

Learn how to create a professional looking resume with MS Word.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Choosing the Right Office Program” or familiarity with the MS Office programs.

Branch Date Day Time
Bend January 29 Wednesday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.


Medical Resources

This class is designed to help consumers become active participants in their health care. Get an overview of the library’s print and electronic medical resources.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Navigating the Web” or familiarity with Internet Explorer (or other browser software).

Branch Date Day Time
Bend February 24 Monday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.


Small Business Resources

An overview of the library’s print and electronic small business resources will get you on the road to an entrepreneurial career.
Prerequisites: “Getting Started on the Computer” or familiarity with the Windows operating system and “Navigating the Web” or familiarity with Internet Explorer (or other browser software).

Branch Date Day Time
Bend March 31 Monday 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.

Page Last Modified Wednesday, June 23, 2021


Top